E'piph'a'ny

E’piph’a’ny
a. A sudden manifestation of the essence or meaning of something.
b. A comprehension or perception of reality by means of a sudden intuitive realization.

Significant moments packaged in the form of an epiphany are like life’s little gifts and today I was fortunate to have had one. Zealous pursuit of career success can often define the perception of ourselves yet we often misplace it’s significance to it’s definition instead. This becomes a very ego-centric reality we create for ourselves not only in how we perceive ourselves but how we cause the world to see us. All our energy is turned inward in order to achieve or maintain this.

Today I learned for myself that this is a flawed system to measure myself against. For so long I believed that my purpose was my career and my value as a human would then be measured by how hard I worked towards a successful means. I was so wrapped up in my own career dogma that I forgot to place energy into the world and the people around me. Until yesterday when I was reminded that it is the energy that we put into lives that surround us on a daily basis that matters.

That we have the capability to greatly impact and help facilitate others on a better path. Helping someone else on their journey instead of tightly keeping the focus on my own freed me for a moment of the mental prison I recently have been keeping myself in. Clearly this is an ideal that actively works against our nature as it takes more energy to relinquish then to receive. The memory of today’s epiphany will fade but I hope the inheritance of principle from today’s lesson will have resonance in day’s to come.

2 Responses to “E'piph'a'ny”

  1. ginnyabblett Says:

    Very true, Andrea, and you follow a good path. Your essays are wonderful. Keep branching out, taking wise risks and making extraordinary jewelry. Ginny

  2. such an important philosophy… it can be a selfish thing as well because it is so pleasurable 🙂 thanks for sharing your thoughts

Leave a Reply

